Broken Turtle Authors
Phillip Bannowsky
Steven Leech
Franetta McMillian
Douglas Morea
Alphabetical list of Delaware authors (un-linked yet to be added; suggestions welcome)
Caroline Ailanthus
William Francis Albensi
Marie Allen
Julianna Baggott
JoAnn Balingit
Ivan Bannowsky
Kathleen Barrett
Mahasveta Barua
Nina Bennett
Michael Blaine
J. Alex Blane
Linda Blaskey
Robert Bohm
Susanne Bostick Allen
James Bourey
Melissa S. Boyd
Fleda Brown
Jamie Brown
Regina Bumbrey
Weldon Burge
Cindy Callaghan
Nancy Carol-Willis
Siobhan Carroll
Carolyn Cecil
James Church/I.N.X.
John Ciriafici
Anne Colwell
Gail Braune Comorat
Shannon Connor Winward
Robert Hambling Davis
Jean Davis
Marisa de Los Santos
Ramona deFelice Long
Liz DeJesus
Viet Dinh
Elizabeth Dolan
Jerome P. Donohue
Buck Downs
Ken Doyle
Jen Epler
Beth Evans
Linda Evans
Irene Fick
Shea Garvin
Patrice Gibbs
Pat Goodman
Terry Aine Griffin
Gary Hanna
Vanessa Haley
Hina Haq
Crystal Heidel
Marsha Henderson
Lois Hoffman
William H. Horner
Frank E. Hopkins
Maurice Hopkins
Kim Holston
Arlene Humphrey
Gail Husch
Wendy Ingersoll
K. B. Inglee
Cassandra JerVey
maria keane
Jacki Kelly
Larry W. Kelts
L. S. King
Elizabeth J. Kolodziej
Karl Kuerner
Gerry LaFemina
e. jean Lanyon
Phil Linz
Robert Mallouk
Maria Masington
John Micklos, Jr.
Abby Millager
Jane Miller
Devon Miller-Duggan
Shaun Mullen
Helen (Cookie) Ohlson
Leon Opio
Bobbie Palmer
Mary Pauer
Scott Phillips
Drury Pifer (1934-2012)
Kathryn Pincus
Francis Poole
Richard Raw
Joseph Redden
Russell Reece
J.M. Reinbold
Liz Reyes
James Michael Robbins
David Robson
Maggie Rowe
Gibbons Ruark
Greg Schauer
Wendy Schermer
Christy Shaffer
Caroline (Carrie) Simpson
David R. Slavitt
J. Gregory Smith
Cruce Stark
Pam Stebbins
K. A. Steed
Frederick Stroesner
KMA Sullivan
Charles and Caroline Todd
Billie Travalini
Johnny M. Tucker, Jr.
Twin Poets Al Mills & Nnamdi Chukwuocha
Justynn Tyme
S. Scott Whitaker
Kelley Jean White
Roz Unruh
Pat Valdata
Jeanne Murray Walker
S. Scott Whitaker
Robert Yearick
Lara M. Zeises




Browse Booklist Books
Did we miss someone? Want to be included? If you are a Delaware state or regional author, drop us a note with a short bio and links to your works. Include a flattering headshot, preferably a small file @ 17 kb or 125X150 (or even multiples so it does not pixellate when we crop and reduce it): Email
Booding headshot Bannowsky

An excellent Alphabetical list of historical Delaware regional authors can be found at
Collecting Delaware Books

Previous Featured Authors
(Only linked authors archived)
12/2019 Linda Blaskey
5/2019 Nina Bennett
9/2018: Tahira
11/2017: Richard Raw
11/2016: Caroline Ailanthus
12/2015: Suitfranchon
08-09/2015: J.M. Reinbold
06-07/2015: Steve Leech
04-05/2015: Liz DeJesus
01-02/2015: Franetta McMillian
12/2014: George Lippard
11/2014: Robert Bohm
10/2014: Douglas Morea
09/2014: Shaun Mullen
08/2014: Patrice Gibbs

Special Announcement:
Broken Turtle Booklist out
Broken Turtle Books is back
See post in Broken Turtle Blog

Cover Jacobo
Broken Turtle Booklist Logo with turtle halves at each end

About the Booklist
Regional Authors
Audio & Video
Broken Turtle Blog
Phillip Bannowsky
A visual, audio, and video archive containing over two centuries
of literary contributions from Delaware authors and poets.
Submissions Open during months of January and June

Award-winning author Phillip Bannowsky writes on the human and mundane vs. our historical juggernaut. Long stretches as Navy brat, autoworker, international educator, college adjunct, and activist stock his arsenal.

Despite his many heresies, Bannowsky has twice been awarded grants by the Delaware Division of the Arts, first for his novel The Mother Earth Inn (Broken Turtle Books, 2007) and second, for his latest work, Jacobo the Turko: a novel in verses (Broken Turtle Books, 2021).

While Bannowsky was humping Chrysler’s assembly line, he created Autoplant: a Poetic Monologue, with which he sharpened his performance chops at regional venues including college campuses, bookstores, and Fringe Festivals in both Philadelphia and Wilmington. Learn more about his latest work, discover where to buy it, and sample his entertaining delivery at his website.

Winner, 2017 Delaware Division of the Arts Established Artist Fellowship in Literature: Poetry.

"Dizzying formal explorations"

"Operatic intensity"

—Diane Seuss (Four-Legged Girl) DDOA Juror's remarks

“linguistic dexterity"

"exceptional musicality”

“a wild gumbo of characters and adventures, politics and class, and the absurdities and cruelties of modern life. . . . a wild ride.”

—Jim Daniels (Birth Marks, The Middle Ages)

Featured Author for Summer, 2021